Display the menu

6 music directors

Since its creation in 1976, the Ensemble intercontemporain has had 6 music directors: Michel Tabachnik (1976-1978), Peter Eötvös (1979-1991), David Robertson (1992-1999), Jonathan Nott (2000-2003), Susanna Mälkki (2006-2012) and Matthias Pintscher (since 2013). They have done much more than preside over the destiny of the Ensemble; they’ve each been a part of this big family of the EIC.

In the first video, four former music directors talk about their experience with the EIC.

In the second one, the current music director, Matthias Pintscher, speaks about his arrival at the Ensemble and how the artistic project has evolved so far.